The Review

The LGB Review: what happens next?

On 3rd February 2021 the Commissioner announced the first statutory step in her review of the eleven district council areas specified in the Local Government (Boundaries) Act (Northern Ireland) 2008. These district councils are as follows:

1.         Antrim and Newtownabbey;

2.        Ards and North Down.

3.        Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon;

4.        Belfast;

5.        Causeway Coast and Glens;

6.        Derry City and Strabane District Council;

7.        Fermanagh and Omagh;

8.        Lisburn and Castlereagh; 

9.        Mid and East Antrim;

10.      Mid Ulster; and

11.       Newry, Mourne and Down.

The parameters of the Local Government Boundaries Review and the procedures for the Review that the Commissioner must follow are set out in the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 1972.

The role of a Local Government Boundaries Commissioner is to review and make recommendations in respect of the number, boundaries and names of local government districts and the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each district is divided.

The Review process may result in recommendations for any change to boundaries and names of the existing 11 council areas and the number, boundaries and names of the wards within these.  The Commissioner has provided a milestone timeline for the activities within the 2020/2021 Review.

The starting point for this Commissioners Review is the Local Government (Boundaries) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012, view the boundary map.

The Commissioner will make provisional recommendations in due course and updates will appear on this website.